And So It Begins

Well Christmas and New Year have been and gone and this year I was quite lucky and received some Christmas money from relatives. So I’ve been scheming as to what to spend the pennies on. I’d been eyeing up Raspberry Pi computer for ages. For those who don’t know what it is, Raspberry Pi is a tiny credit card sized computer. You plug it in to your TV or monitor, slip in a SD card to use as a hard drive and away you go! Its very basic and is intended to be used to teach programming and basic computer science to school kids. Its also very cheap (£25ish) so is accessible to all.

Mmmm Raspberry Pi

Mmmm Raspberry Pi

The other thing I’ve been on the look out for was another Wii. I wanted to have a go at soft modding a Wii but didn’t really want to do it to our lovely sleek black one from Father Christmas 2 years ago. I didn’t want to brick it and make my kids cry. So I’ve been keeping my eyes peeled in our local Cash Converters for a cheap second hand one.

We went shopping to Doncaster to spend Fluff’s (my 6 year old son) birthday money. We went round our usual places and ended up at CeX so we had a look at Xbox 360 games for him. Whilst looking in the cabinets i spied a teeny tiny circuit board and stifled an excited squeal. They had a Raspberry Pi B! It was priced at £40 but given the wait time I’d have for it online it was worth it!

*Much excite*

*Much excite*

After buying that (and some other DVD’s including the complete Lord of The Rings trilogy on Bluray for £15) we wandered off in the direction of the market. On the way we decided to pop in to Cash Generator (like Cash Converters) and have a nose around. Again perusing the cabinets of second hand electrical my eyes fell on a large sign labelled “White Wii’s £20”. I had to contain my excitement  while the shop girl went to get me one. How sad am I?

So here I am with my 2 purchases. Quite excited.

Posted on January 8, 2013, in Geek, Techy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment